Follow the coaches plan, hit the TT’s hard and get more
structured in my eating.
So happy to see a light session for today because:
- the weather outside sucked and I didn’t want to ride in it and
- after a big weekend my legs were toasted and the break was welcome.
One guilt free trainer ride coming up and slammed down.
Did a little stretch and core strength session at gym today
too. I'm noticing my core just kind of
‘collapses’ when I’m running tired, trying to build up a little more
strength. Also a good excuse to escape
the office at lunch.
Tuesday.
What a run!
Programmed as an own venue/easy run to time. Got to admit wasn’t inspired at the
start. Despite light training yesterday legs
felt heavy all day and real sense of "Meh" around this whole activity. Still after starting I just felt
right. Right road, right sound track –
everything was just as it is supposed to be.
Had to consciously slow myself down as a found myself running hard next
to two dogs down the river path and laughing at how magnificent life is.
Today was a good day.
Wednesday.
Slow to get rolling this morning – was it that I didn’t want
to ride or was it the destination?
Anyway a decent but otherwise unremarkable 30km commute. Was scheduled to do a tt ride this week but
can get to velo and just cant find a section long enough on my route. Settled for hammering 20 (broken) km. No great insights, no witty revelations, just
calories burnt and muscles exercised.
Sometimes that’s enough though.
Another uninspiring ride home – on the upside though it was
nice and uneventful. Miles and minutes in
the bank – nothing else to see here, move along please.
Thursday.
Run TT day. A little
warmup toddle, some stretching and a gentle cool down but lets be frank, its
all about the one lap of the tan. I
rarely mention numbers but a tt without them isn’t a tt is it? – 18:45 for a tic
under 4 km, about 1:30 slower than my best.
BUT averaged better than 5 min kms for the first time all year and also
ran fastest single km for the year.
Also, mentally able to hold threshold (and beyond) for nearly 20
mins. Not the result I wanted but the
trending is good and that’s ok for now.
Friday.
I SWAM!. Not far, not
fast but I swam. Was better and worse than
I feared. The good – I can still swim
ok, the bad I ran out of power really really fast.
One thing though is I can really feel the benefit of
practicing swimming well. I’ve had more
valuable swimming instruction from Sean Foster and Neroli Nixon while training
to be a triathlete than in 6 years of competitive swimming as a kid/teenager –
wished I had this coaching then!
Saturday.
Bike issue meant I binned this mornings session. In short, dropped chain, wrecked chain,
replaced chain (and removed and then refitted chain rings).
Planned to do session alone in afternoon but scheduled
ride-run-ride-run too hard to manage from home.
Settled for simple studley park reps.
Didn’t meant to do anything special, certainly wasn’t smashing it but
turns out I did some of my fastest ever laps of the boulevard. Really confused.
Sunday.
Sleep in – thank the Lord!
Not sure if I can remember feeling this good about a rest
day. Lots of sleep but just tired all
day. Is that because I really needed it
or just my brain filling in a gap because I knew I had the day off. This can really screw with you so better not
to think to hard about it, just let it happen.
Weekly Summary.
Interesting week.
Usually I can summarise a week barely looking back at the notes but this
time I had to reread every day. Just
cant find a sensible narrative for the week, I started with a ‘soft’ day didn’t
grind out anything really extraordinary during the week but finished the week
dead. Even reviewing the week nothing
really gels, tt’s were slow but ‘easy’ days were some of the fastest things
I’ve done for months. Oh, and I swam for
the first time in six weeks.
Overall I think that my life outside of training, which is
good but a bit on edge at the moment, is messing with my head. Its one thing to have a nice progressive
training plan but if your head and heart are all over the place shouldn’t be
surprised that performance becomes unpredictable.
Last point – lots of accidents on Beach road and
beyond. Some with mates who are way better
riders than me. Note – be careful!
pps.
Also, a quick lesson on how to give news people. When you come up to someone waiting for their partner to come in from a ride "there's been an accident" and then follow up up with "Libby's ok, she's stopped to help." Other way round is recommended.
No comments:
Post a Comment