ROTH 2015 – RACE REPORT
I started
working on this not long after my race at Roth, got distracted so never
finished it, then Pete Coombe came out with his great IM Japan report and I've
been oscillating between inspiration to finish mine and intimidation that he
writes so much better than me. Deciding
that fear is never a good basis upon which to act (or not to) here goes.
By the
way, having re-read this it’s clear I need an editor, it’s too looooong. Sorry.
PREPARATION.
Testing the idea thats its better to be underdone
than over cooked.
Plan A. My plan A could be best described as Rocky
1. The little known bum gets a shot at
the big time, devotes himself to training, there's lots of inspirational music
providing a sound track to a steady transformation of the doughy part timer
into a chiseled demigod. The plan was to
come off marathon training hard build a solid base ready for a 10 week period
'going pro' (on long service leave).
A few
things happened - getting to training from our new house was much harder than
I'd foreseen, work was much busier than planned so 10 weeks prep as a 'pro'
became 3, and finally I came off my bike breaking my wrist about 12 weeks
before the event. So plan A got binned
and plan B got drafted.
Plan B. This is more Rocky II. Here the hero (that would be me) has a few
set backs to the start of his training but overcomes them and battles through
with a massive effort in the end and goes on to beat up the champ and dance
joyously around the ring.
That
resurgence never happened. Why? Lots of reasons, and at this point the script
looks less like a Rocky story with a hero dragging himself to victory and more
like a Woody Allen movie with the protagonist paralysed by self-doubt and a
loss of direction. Anyway, Plan B gets
dumped and Plan C is drafted.
Plan C. I'm reduced to the lead in "Run fat boy,
run." It’s no longer about triumphant results and crossing the line to the
sound of swelling orchestral music. It’s
now managing my effort and body to get through the event staggering across an
empty finishing line with just your faithful wife waiting. In short I've gone from competer back to
completer.
THE RACE
PLAN
Thankfully
I had been through an ironman before and so I knew what I was in for - or so I
thought. I didn’t plan in terms of
times, purely on effort. The idea was
ease through the swim backing off if I felt even the slightest stress; ride the
bike smack in the middle of my training heart rate range say 135-145 bpm, run as
far as I can ignoring pace and just keep moving.
Ok, now I
said I didn’t consider time but I was (like every triathlete that says they don’t
have a time target) lying. Of course I
had some times in mind, I just wasn’t going too drive myself to meet them in
the race. Last time at Busso 2013 I did
a 12:05 Clearly that wasn’t on the
cards this time but I figured I was looking 1:15-1:20 for the swim, 6:00-6:30
for the bike and 5:00 to 5:30 for the run plus 10 minutes odd in
transition. So ballpark, if the day is
going great I could be as quick as 12:25, if the day is going badly I was
mentally ready for a long 13:30 day.
Roth is
interesting in that cut off to count as a finisher is 15 not 17 hours but that
wasnt going to be an issue for me was it.
Lets come back to that later shall we.
THE SWIM
Roth is a
series of waves, not a mass start, these days.
The waves seem to be a combination of projected swim and overall
time. I was in a kind of middle of the
pack wave and that felt about right.
The Roth swim course is ideal for someone like me - ie someone who cant
swim in a straight line to save their life (fingers crossed I never test that
particular statement). The swim is done
in a shipping channel thats closed just for this event. The channel is long, narrow and basically
straight so my 3.8 km swim was only 4 km according to Garmin - the most
'efficient' open water swim I've done in my life. Not much else to report really, treated it as
a long training swim, got out feeling fresh and ready to ride in 1:20.
T1.
What to
say? Routine change over really. A
fraction slower than ideal but no biggie, the delay was mostly caused by a
number of helpers being needed by the guy next to me who had some asthma issues
on the swim. Added perhaps 30 seconds to
the entire transitition, dont care.
THE BIKE
The Good. As the weather was looking like being pretty
warm and sunburn had been an issue for me at Busso I took a last minute
decision to change into a 'normal' bike jersey.
This worked. The jersey is
comfortable (it’s what I wear for every training ride after all), got better
pockets than a tri top and it’s got sleeves.
Will do this again for long races.
Saw Libby
coming out of T1 and was stoked and the good vibes stayed for the next hour and
a bit.
My heart rate was sitting dead in the middle of my target range, my legs
felt strong, the road was better than anything I've ever ridden on and I was
really comfortable in aero. On top of
that I'm cruising along at between 30-32 kph.
I am looking at going sub 6 hours, God is in his heaven and all is well
in the world.
The Bad
(note this will be longer). Then I had to climb. At about 40 km into the bike
course you go through the town of Greding - a lovely little village that I'm
sure is full of wonderful people.
Unfortunately, for me it will always be remembered as the place I wanted
to die.
The climb
out of Greding is nothing unusual, it’s not hellish and it shouldn’t be a
problem for any properly prepared athlete.
This is where I found out I was not a properly prepared athlete. During the 'steep' bit of the climb (about
5ish % for about 1km) my heart rate spiked to 170 and my legs felt like they
were bleeding power. Perhaps I could
have recovered except the climb doesn’t actually stop, it levels out to a
constant 2ish% percent for another 5 or so km.
Big deal, it’s a basically just a false flat isn’t it? Normally, but on this day, my lack of
condition meant that while my heart rate stabilised, it didn’t normalise. The net effect was that only just an hour on
the course I spent the next 30 minutes at threshold and was cooked.
After this
the remainder of the ride became a battle for survival. I could get into a groove on the flat/rolling
terrain, being a bigger bloke the growing cross winds/head winds that some
complained of were less less of an issue but whenever a climb got longer than
100 meters, especially if I needed to stand for any reason, I was screwed. Whenever the road went up I had nothing, if I
had to stand I'd cramp immediately.
The Ugly. At its worst I was forced to get off the bike
and walk out cramps and/or avoid just falling over because I couldn’t push the
pedals. The crisis came at about the
120km mark. I was sitting on the side of
the road on a slight up hill, head between my knees, throwing up and abductors
cramped solid. A couple of mum and dads
walked down from the aid station came down to offer help and the sag wagon
stopped for a "chat". Then I
got passed by the girl in the hand cycle.
That was a
bit of a decision point for me - if this were a movie, the sound track would have
been real low, only mournful strings and there would have been a long lingering
shot of my 1000 yard stare. What should
I do? Without getting all melodramatic I
note a bloke died at IM Frankfurt just a week earlier. At this point I did an inventory of my
body. Nothing was torn, pulled or
strained. I was sweating (like a pig)
and needed a piss so my hydration system was working. I wasn’t getting dizzy or trembling, vision
was fine. In short I was fat, unfit and
out of energy but I wasn’t broken. This
was going to be really, really hard but it wasn’t going to kill me.
Cue the
rising music, the swelling sound track and super slo mo of Rocky grabbing the
ropes and dragging himself to his feet.
I mounted up and pushed off - slowly, soundtrack was still probably only a little woodwind, perhaps piano - no brass or horns for me yet.
I had a few more stops, at one point I had to bend over quickly without
dismounting caught my number belt on the bidons behind me and tore that off
(remember that plot twist for later) but I got to T2.
Upshot. 7 and a half hours on the bike - my average
speed, when moving, was ok - there was just a lot of times when I wasn’t moving
or moving a walking pace (funnily enough because I was - in fact -
walking). That number had become a huge
flashing light in my head over the last few km.
7 and a half, plus about 1 and a half for the swim and T1 and I'd burnt
up 9 hours.
I wanted
to throw the bike at the catchers but was prevented by my total inability to
muster the energy. Also, even then I was
aware my problems were of my making not the bike's. Still, I was done with that stinking
(literally) thing. Never have I been
happier to sit down in a proper chair.
As soon as
my arse hit the seat the reality of the maths dawned on me. I'd used up near as dammit 9 hours, I had 6
to go. Do the maths - 360 minutes to do
42 km, need to average 8.5 min per km or thereabouts. That’s going to be a theme - do the maths!
Systems status. Legs? Gone.
Ability to
refuel? Limited.
Hydration?
Ok.
Thinking?
Unhelpfully clear headed about situation.
Basically
I couldn’t run but I was painfully aware that I didn’t have time to walk.
Kona
videos came to the rescue here. I
pictured all those heroes those shows give us and figured someone else might
drag me off the course, someone else might not record me as a finisher, but I
won’t quit. I won’t wear that.
So wind up
the music, get ready for the tear jerking start to the run as the fightback
starts and STOP THE TAPE! POW! a
freezing cold wet sponge smacks into my head. BANG, CRACK, KAPOWIE - if this
had been a cartoon the screen would have been full of words. Apparently the kids in T2 had decided it was
boring to hand over cold sponges and elected to hurl them at the athletes
instead. At first it was shocking, then
kind of fun.
Then
became really boring. The officials
weren’t going to let me out on the run course without my number belt - remember
it was out of the bike course somewhere.
The two tattoo decals and timing chip wasn’t sufficient to prove who I
was. So what do I do? 7 minutes later a
senior official came over and explained that without a number belt I wasn’t
going to get any photos on the run course.
Frankly that was the least of my problems - I suspect the words " I
don’t give a fuck - I can’t stay here!" may have come out my mouth. He
said something in German and shrugged, I headed out of transition and the
"run" started.
THE RUN.
"Its not a challenge unless you are likely to fail. " Aaron Keefe (or words to that effect)
Yay, saw
Libby again which made me feel great. I
suspect she has no idea how happy that made me because I'm almost certain I was
in a sulk about how the day was going and was right on the edge of throwing my
toys out of the cot. I wasn’t going to
make the cut-off, I couldn’t walk 8 and a half minute kms for an entire
marathon. But sheer stubborness shouldn’t
be underestimated and I trudged on.
And the
mental game really kicked off. You know
that feeling when you can’t quite remember something and you try not to think
about it too hard but also keep just aware enough that you might catch the name
or number or last item on the shopping list just in case it flits through your
mind? Well that was me and the maths
problem. For the next 20km I was
obsessively doing the numbers but trying not to think about the implications of
the numbers. A km down in 8:20, 10
seconds up. 7 km down, 1 minute ahead,
plenty of time for the remaining 35 km - "WTF, WE ARE DOING THIS FOR
ANOTHER 35 KM? THATS OVER 5 FREAKING HOURS OF THIS SHIT!" No, no its just a few km, not long now, just
keep going. Excellent, nearly half way
and I've still got 3 hrs til cut off - "HOLD THE BUS SUNSHINE, WE'VE GOT
THREE MORE HOURS OF THIS CRAP?!?!?" No, dont be silly, it'll be over soon.
And so it
went for 21 or so km, my brain at war with itself, desperately needing more
time but terrified of the sheer amount of time I had to sustain the effort.
After half
way things got bad. My feet were so sore
it was unbelievable. I could tell a
couple of toes were bleeding (the bloodstains on the shoes are kind of a giveaway). And I was drifting out of juice. It wasnt a sudden cramp or anything, just a
slow ebbing of pace as I would lose focus and slow for a bit. 2 minutes up my sleeve went, then I was 1 minute
down, 3 minutes down, 10 minutes down.
By around the 30 km mark I was 15 minutes behind schedule and like
someone dealing with a death I wasn’t ready to accept it so I started
bargaining. "I wonder if they won’t
look at the time when I cross the line, perhaps I'll get a finishers medal
anyway...." that sort of thing was happening in my head.
Then my
guardian angel - or perhaps my jiminy cricket - turned up, my mate
Mark. He started a couple of waves after
me so had time up his sleeve. We'd been
passing each other for a few hours as he ran/walked and I was powerwalking but
my times in front were getting shorter and shorter and pretty soon Mark was
going to leave me. But he didn’t,
instead Mark stayed with me, urged me to run a bit, rest, then run a bit more.
I should
say I had been trying to run earlier but my legs had held a stop work meeting
and decided I'd burnt up all their goodwill and they were working strictly
according to the letter of their contract and that contract was walking. Occasionally management sent a message down
to the workers asking for a bit of running, you know, for the good of the
company and all. Usually this just
resulted in snap strikes - often mid stride - leading to new problems (like
picking myself up off the ground). I don’t
know if it was the distraction of having Mark there to chat to or that as I'd
drifted off pace I'd actually recovered a bit but slowly the worker bees began
to cooperate and 30 seconds of running became 45 seconds, became a couple of
minutes.
And the
maths got better. Under 10km to go -
YAY! Only a bit over an hour more of
this - great! Off the track along the
canal, through the little industrial section, into the park, little milestones
behind us then suddenly, without really being sure at about the 37 km mark I
did the numbers really carefully. 5 km
to go, ball park 55 minutes - HOLY SHIT Batman - we're going to do this.
A funny,
sad, triumphant, deflating and really odd time followed as Mark and I navigated
through most deserted streets of Roth.
Passing masses of empty tables were earlier thousands of people would
have been cheering. Asking a couple of
bystanders for directions at one point.
But then, music, flashes of light.
The stadium is coming.
THE FINISH
Cue the brass, lets the horns loose - turn the soundtrack up to 11.
The finish
at Roth is everything you can imagine. A
packed stadium, thousands of people screaming, huge euro pop sound track. Libby was there with a flag, I wanted to stop
with her but I couldn’t bring myself to.
14 hours of moving, moving, moving.
I knew I'd made it but was afraid I was wrong, I kept going. Mark was the reason I'd made it and I wanted
to cross with him. Seeing the photo's
later, I made possibly the campiest finish in the history of iron distance
triathlon but I don’t care. I was there.
Heard the
term "humble brag"? It’s when
people deliberately put themselves down to situate others to build them
up. It comes about because we aren’t
supposed to express our own satisfaction with ourselves. In Australia we say we shouldn’t "big
note" ourselves.
Well screw
that! I am proud of what I did. I had a terrible race, I failed completely
and utterly in managing my own training and my day should never have been that
way. But it was terrible and I did not fail on the day. To paraphrase one of my beloved cheezy Kona
quotes if I'd quit no one would have cared, my friends would have been great,
supporting me, building me up, making it alright. But I would have known. I didn’t have to finish, I could have pulled
out, there was nothing making me finish but me, and I did it. I am really proud of my worst race
(hopefully) ever.
WASHUP
I have
unfinished business with Roth. This report
is full of desperate struggles which is really unfair to the race. I haven’t spoken about how beautiful the swim
start was as the sun rose above the mist.
I've completely ignored the brilliance of the bike course, the fantastic
descents with long fast sections joined by tight, technical and really fun
hairpins or the bits of the course running across gorgeous ridges and let’s
never forget the famous Solar Berg climb.
The run loop isn't exciting but it really should be a fast paced journey
down this lovely soft gravelly sort of surface culminating in a charge through
cheering crowds. I want that race
too. So I will be back and next time
I'll do it properly.
I have to
thank lots of people - starting with Libby.
No triathlete can do anything without super supportive and understanding
partners. We need time to train, money
to buy toys/race entries/food etc. And
we need someone to whine to when it hurts and to give us sympathy I suspect
they don’t really feel. Libby has done
all of this and more - thank you.
All my
training, travelling and racing buddies.
Too many to name, but a special thanks to Mark for his help on the day.
Finally a
person I've been reluctant to mention.
My day was the result of poor preparation and I would hate anyone to
link my situation with my coach. My
problems were my problems and all started when I went off program and under the
radar training by myself. Why did I do
that - a whole host of issues that were mine.
That I finished at all says more than I can ever articulate about the
depth of fitness I had from working with Sean before I dropped off. Best of all, since coming back Sean has been
great and I’m really excited about getting back into it.
THE FUTURE.
1. Some time away from ironman. I will do another IM (I'm entered IM Austria
in June 2016) but I need a break right now.
2. Sprints.
As Ricky Bobby would say 'I just wanna go fast'. Season 15/16 is all about the short stuff.
3. I can’t train by myself. A man's got to know his limitations - a
common phrase with me unfortunately. I
can’t train myself. I don’t push the
intensity hard enough. I cut the work
short. I'm too quick to bail training
sessions when it gets hard. I’m fine race
day, I can dial that in myself but I need help to train. Commit to the program. Luckily I've got a great pair of coaches with
Sean and Steve (now I'm doing sprints it more Steve) and a huge group of
training partners that unwittingly shame me to work.
THE END - its over, I promise.




Pete. Inspirational stuff. Think back a few years to a time when you couldn't squeeze your girth into your work shirts or see your feet when you did your shoes up. I'm not exaggerating am I....... You've come such a long way in a short time. You blew the physical race plan but learned so much about your mental strength. Well done mate. Proud of you.
ReplyDelete